Classification of refractory materials

1. Acid refractory

Acid refractory usually refers to refractory with SiO2 content greater than 93%. Its main feature is that it can resist the erosion of acid slag at high temperature, but it is also easy to react with alkaline slag. Acid refractories mainly include quartz glass products, fused silica recombination products, silica bricks and unshaped siliceous refractories. Semi-siliceous refractories are also generally classified into this category. As for clay-based refractories, they are also classified into this category, which are called semi-acid or weak-acid refractories, as well as zircon refractories and silicon carbide refractories. Refractory materials are also classified as special acid refractory materials.

2. Alkaline refractories

Basic refractories generally refer to refractories with magnesium oxide or magnesium oxide and calcium oxide as the main components. This type of refractory material has high refractoriness and strong resistance to alkaline slag. Alkaline refractory materials are mainly used in basic steelmaking furnaces and non-ferrous metal smelting furnaces, and such materials are often used in the cement industry. Alkaline refractories mainly include magnesia, magnesia-chrome bricks, forsterite, Alcoa, white jade and calcareous refractories, among which magnesia, dolomite and limestone are strongly alkaline, chrome-magnesium bricks and magnesia-chrome Brick, forsterite and spinel are weakly alkaline.

3. Neutral refractories

At high temperature, refractory materials that are not easy to react with acidic or basic slag are called neutral refractory materials. Neutral refractory materials include carbonaceous refractory materials and chrome refractory materials, and some include high-aluminum refractory materials in this category, and are classified as neutral refractory materials with some acid tendencies.

Tell Us What You're Looking For.

Please Leave your message you want to know! We will respond to your inquiry within 24 hours!